Lot Looked, Abram Saw

What circumstance in your life is God using to move you to enlarge your vision of God’s heart and purposes?

For Abram it was over-crowding (Genesis 13). Abram and Lot were rich men. Their large herds bumped up against one another. The Canaanites and the Perizzites grazed their herds in the same land.  Too many flocks in close proximity. Tensions grew. Tempers flared. Lot and Abram must separate. The Lord uses this circumstance to move Abram to the next stage of promise and vision.

 Abram’s encounters with God have already taken his eyes off what he sees in the flesh. He is open-handed. He gives Lot first choice. “If you take the left, then I will go to the right.”

Lot “chose for himself” the lush land. He looked with material eyes, chose what looked good to him, and ended up in Sodom.

God tells Abram, “Lift up your eyes and look from the place where you are, North and South, East and West, for all the land that you see I will give to you and your offspring forever. I will make your offspring as the dust of the earth, so that if one can count the dust of the earth, your offspring can also be counted. Arise, walk through the length and breadth of the land, for I will give it to you.”

Lot’s eyes lead him off to flourishing green and grief.

Abram’s eyes glimpse the invisible and far-off eternal blessing.

What am I looking at? looking for? What am I seeing? Am I living in the promises? Am I, like Abram, looking North and South, East and West? Am I turning 360 degrees in the promises of God, lifting up my eyes, looking with the eyes of faith? Am I stepping into the land of promise and walking through it?

What does it reveal about God that He makes promises? What does it reveal about His desire for me as His child and servant?

Because it is impossible to please Him without faith (Hebrews 11:6), He calls me to BELIEVE HIM and step into the invisible. His promises paint pictures in my mind of unseen realities. His promises reveal His heart and plans. When I walk the promised land by faith I’m drawn into a sweet and secret place.

He wants me to develop the “picture” in my mind so that it becomes my reality. This is where I live. “By faith he went to live in the land of promise, as in a foreign land, living in tents with Isaac and Jacob, heirs with him in the same promise. For he was looking forward to a city that has foundations, whose designer and builder is God” (Hebrews 11:9,10).

 So I ask myself, “Am I just looking or am I seeing?”

2 thoughts on “Lot Looked, Abram Saw

  1. I love this reflection and the reminder to open the eyes of the heart and really see. Your heart for God and his Word, the truth of living by faith and “walking through” the land of promise bolster my faith. Thank you.

    On Thu, Dec 1, 2016 at 1:36 PM, Jean Fleming: Live the Mystery wrote:

    > jeanflemingltm posted: “What circumstance in your life is God using to > move you to enlarge your vision of God’s heart and purposes? For Abram it > was over-crowding (Genesis 13). Abram and Lot were rich men. Their large > herds bumped up against one another. The Canaanites and th” >

    Like

  2. God has used my Bible study in Genesis to call me to faith and courage to step into some situations. So grateful for the Holy Spirit’s ministry through the Word. Even rebuke comes with encouragement and hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

