Seek His Face

prayer-photo

Thursday night I participated in a community-wide prayer meeting in the small western town where I live. About 300 people came to pray for our nation and community, came to make confession, to repent, to ask God to move with power in our land. A line of fifteen pastors stood and read together a confession of their pastoral failures. Then the rest of us confessed our failure to pray for our pastors, our luke-warmness, our varied and yet common sin.

We met at the fairgrounds in the same space where pies are judged and antique tractors are displayed in summer. We sat at tables, all mixed together, many churches represented. Some brought children, others came dragging oxygen canisters. We prayed. The murmur rose—(I sincerely hope) as a sweet incense to our God.

Two strong impressions marked me.

One, complacency-rupturing repentance comes only from God. I can’t even repent apart from His gracious work. Unless God gives fresh vision of His holiness and heart I remain sedately mired, content with good-enough. Deep cleansing confession and fervency to pursue Christ comes from the Spirit’s power.

Two, my husband prayed: Lord, have I been content to live in Your presence without fervently seeking Your face?

Would you take a moment now to pray for a spirit of repentance to sweep our land? And for God’s mighty work in His people that we might faithfully fulfill our calling?

One thought on “Seek His Face

  1. I prayed as you suggested, dear Jean. And Roger’s prayer struck a cord with me as well. Thank you for being a good steward of your beautiful and instructive thoughts. I endeavor to ‘live the mystery’ with you.

    On Thu, Oct 27, 2016 at 3:12 PM, Jean Fleming: Live the Mystery wrote:

    > jeanflemingltm posted: ” Thursday night I participated in a community-wide > prayer meeting in the small western town where I live. About 300 people > came to pray for our nation and community, came to make confession, to > repent, to ask God to move with power in our land. A line of” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

