Always the Scriptures

If I could be a fly on the wall to overhear any conversations in the Bible this would be my choice. In Luke 24 the risen Christ reveals Himself and the plan of God to His disciples from the Scriptures. Oh, to hear Jesus’ voice gather the threads and display Himself in all the Scriptures. Jesus did this twice in this chapter, pretty much back to back, to two emotionally distraught companies of His disciples.

First: He opened the Scriptures to the grieving and confused disciples on the road from Jerusalem. “And beginning with Moses and all the Prophets, He interpreted to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning Himself” (verse 27).

Second: Then Jesus appeared to the eleven. It’s easy to imagine their fragile emotional state after all that has happened. The arrest, mock trial, flogging and crucifixion followed by rumors of resurrection. When Jesus appears suddenly they are “startled and frightened.”  Jesus describes them as troubled and doubting.

“Then He said to them, ‘These are My words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about Me in the law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.’

          Then He opened their minds to understand the Scriptures, and said to them, ‘Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and the repentance and forgiveness of sins should be proclaimed in His name to all nations, beginning in Jerusalem. And behold I am sending the promise of My Father among you. But stay in the city until you are clothed with power from on high’” (verses 44-49).

When Jesus comes to His emotionally fragile people what does He do? He opens the Scriptures to them.

When troubling emotions rob my peace and joy I need Jesus to preach the gospel to me, too. The glory is that Jesus still draws near to speak His Word to me. My part is to reserve space daily to open His Word and to engage with expectation.

Let’s live the mystery.

2 thoughts on “Always the Scriptures

  1. “My part is to reserve space daily to open His Word and to engage with expectation.” Which begs the question, “How much space am I reserving to open His Word and engage with expectation?” Great timing as I’m sitting here with a calendar before me considering this year’s schedule. Thank you so much for the encouragement to keep doing this… and to do it more! :0)

    Like

Leave a Reply

