Tell Me What to Do

 

Mothers Heart

After the caesarian birth of our first child I sat on the side of the hospital bed and cried. My son and I were frustrated trying to master breast feeding. He had been swept to the nursery when I went into recovery and had a large bottle-nipple, stuffed with cotton, stuck in his mouth. My anatomy didn’t meet his expectations.

A kind, black Army nurse entered my world of inexperience and unbalanced hormones. She told me a funny story. We laughed. Then she told me that her family was poor and when sickness came, her mother asked God to tell her what to do. She said that it wasn’t until she was in nursing school that she realized that her mother had mixed up concoctions for sore throats that were similar to what doctors prescribed. I’ve thought of this gentle woman many times. She came to my mind again this morning when I read Isaiah 28:23-29.

In this passage the Lord asks farming questions. Does the farmer plow and plow and plow and never get around to planting? Does the farmer plant all crops in the same manner? Does the farmer harvest all crops the same? Of course, the answer is NO. He prepares the ground, then plants each crop according its needs. Each crop is harvested and made ready for use in the appropriate way.

“For he is rightly instructed; his God teaches him” (Isaiah 28:26).

“This  also comes from the Lord of hosts; He is wonderful in counsel and excellent in wisdom” (Isaiah 28:29).

So I think: what is it I don’t know how to do? how to handle? how to respond? how to go forward?

“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given to him” (James 1:8).

Lord God, You are wonderful in counsel and excellent in wisdom. You made me and you know my circumstance. You love to instruct and teach. My part is to humbly ask: Tell me what to do (see Proverbs 11:2).

 Live the glorious mystery.

 

One thought on “Tell Me What to Do

Leave a Reply

