Blessed to See

The phrase “[Jesus] rejoiced in the Holy Spirit” (Luke 10:21) stopped me. The image of our Lord, Spirit-filled, joy-filled, exulting, set my spirit swelling. I think what sets Jesus’ spirit soaring should set my spirit soaring, too.

As I considered the context, I placed this phrase beside surrounding verses.

My name is written in heaven: Preceding the phrase, Jesus warns the seventy-two disciples returning from a successful missionary endeavor not to rejoice that they had authority over evil spirits, but “rejoice that your names are written in heaven” (Luke 10:20).

Father and Son have revealed Themselves to me: Jesus thanked the Father that though supreme truth is hidden from the wise, He has graciously revealed it to little children. He goes on: “All things have been handed over to Me by My Father, and no one knows who the Son is except the Father, or Who the Father is except the Son and anyone to whom He chooses to reveal Him” (Luke 10:22).

I have seen and heard what was long hidden but earnestly desired: “Blessed are the eyes that see what you see! For I tell you that many prophets and kings desired to see what you see, and did not see it, and to hear what you hear, and did not hear it” (Luke 10:23,24).

My spirit rises. My name is written in heaven. The Father sent the Son that I might know both Father and Son. Because I can’t know God by discovery He has revealed Himself to me. Throughout the ages, men of wisdom, prophets and kings, longed to see and hear what Jesus has revealed to me. These revelations are veins of riches bought with the blood of Christ.

Paul got it when he wrote: “To me…was given…the unsearchable riches of Christ” (Eph. 3:8). Unsearchable! Paul takes me to the shore of an endless ocean and bids me rejoice in awe.

I acknowledge that “my rejoicing” isn’t in right proportion to the wonder of these things. I’ve seen lottery winners jump and scream. I’ve seen fans at the Super Bowl paint their bare torsos blue. I’ve seen teens at Rock Concerts swoon, and I acknowledge that my responses to the unsearchable riches of Christ are comparatively puny. Although my responses lack visible enthusiasms, the reality is that the Holy Spirit is mining the treasure-store to me, quietly, faithfully, privately. He reminds me that each of these wonderful riches is meant to stir joy in me today whatever my circumstance.

As I consider the Lord Jesus “rejoicing in the Spirit,” I think how pure and intense His joy was. He knows, like no one else, the glory these riches represent—and He knows what it cost to procure them for us. I believe He rejoices when I seek from the Spirit more insight and experience of things hidden—and revealed. May my joy in some measure reflect His joy.

Live the mystery.

Leave a Reply

