Exploring Mystery

The mysteries of God are truths that we could never discover. They must be revealed to us. Everywhere in the Bible God is shining His revelatory beam on beautiful mysteries. As I read I often think: a person could spend an entire lifetime exploring one mysterious phrase, one solitary amazing reality. These truths are entered into and experienced by faith. This is living the mystery.

For example, I read a passage like Romans 6:5-11 “For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his. We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin. For the one who has died has been set free from sin. Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. We know that Christ, being raised from the dead, will never die again; death no longer has dominion over him. For the death he died to sin, once for all, but the life he lives he lives to God. So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.”

I make a list of phrases that strike me. I feel the vastness of realities beyond what I can see or touch.

I am united with Christ.

I am united with Jesus in a death like His.

I am united with Him in His resurrection.

My old self was crucified with Him,

That the body of sin might be brought to nothing.

I am no longer a slave to sin.

I have been set free from sin.

I died with Christ and I am alive with Him.

Consider myself dead to sin and ALIVE to God.

What do I do with mysteries like these? Each phrase calls me to lock my eyes on Jesus my Savior, to behold Him. I beat back my natural tendency to rush to the implications for ME. My gaze must settle on Him and melt my hard edges. Who He is and what He’s done is the kernel of each phrase. His reverent submission to the Father. His suffering. His victory. Every phrase bleeds before it shines.

Then, when I’m “fuller” of Him and “emptier” of me, I experience my union with Him in deeper ways. Every phrase has blossoming implications for my life. I am dead and alive, a sin-slave set free. Glorious mystery.

2 thoughts on “Exploring Mystery

  1. I look forward to reading each Thursday. Found the following to be meaningful to my heart: “Lock my eyes on Jesus my Savior, to behold Him. My gaze must settle on Him and melt my hard edges.” Thank you.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad these thoughts are ministering to you, Sherri. It’s both an encouragement and an answer to prayer to hear that God is using the blog. Thanks for connecting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

