Here I Am!

God takes the initiative to make Himself known. He must. He is invisible, infinite, eternal and divine. Humanity can know nothing of Him apart from His gracious Self-revelation. He demonstrates the enormity of His love and longing in the lengths to which He goes to make Himself known.

Years ago, when my friend Louise would visit, my husband would sometimes entertain her three-year old son, Kerry, whose father was at sea with the navy. Roger explained the game Hide and Seek to Kerry. But as soon as Roger called, “Here I come,” Kerry would jump out from behind the couch.

“Here I am.” Kerry would shout as he leaped into view, his arms flung exuberantly overhead.

At first Roger tried to explain to Kerry that he must stay hidden until found. But finally, and wisely, Roger concluded that Kerry had grasped the greater delights of the game. The joy is not in hiding but in finding and in being found.

God says, “I revealed Myself to those who did not ask for Me; I was found by those who did not seek Me. To a nation that did not call on My name, I said, ‘Here am I, Here am I.’ All day long I have held out My hands to an obstinate people, who walk in ways not good, pursuing their own imaginations” (Isaiah 65:1,2).

I see the Lord standing there, like Kerry, with outstretched arms, “Here I am. There is joy in finding Me and My joy is in being found.” As far as I can tell, God is everywhere jumping out from behind couches in Self-revelation.

What profound mystery resides here. God Almighty, Creator of all that is, makes Himself visible to spiritual eyes that will SEE. Keep your eyes open. Live the mystery.

Leave a Reply

