Blogging Dangers

Every Thursday I’ll post something. It’s not hard to see the danger in that. Warnings abound. “When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent” (Proverbs 10:19). Solomon cautioned restraint in our words before God. “Let your words be few” (Ecclesiastes 5:2).

Inherent dangers accompany the blessing of ministering God’s holy Word. The ever practical James reminded: “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness” (James 3:1).

So…

I pray that the things I ponder and write will touch ME most profoundly. I preach to myself, my weakness, my need. I stand under the words to examine my own life, to repent, and to make confession. I ask: Where does MY heart and mind need realignment or radical surgery? What do I need to believe, or do, or not do?

I pray that I will not suppose that because I’ve written a truth that I’ve apprehended it or that I’m living it. That assumption would be a hollowing deception.

I pray that I would rightly handle the word of truth (see II Timothy 2:15).

I pray my words would whet the reader’s appetite for God and His Word. But more, I pray that I would be the reader most stirred in love and devotion to God.

Until next Thursday.

One thought on “Blogging Dangers

Leave a Reply

