A Good Question

“What are you seeking?” (John 1:38) ESV

I believe that a good question is better than a good answer.  Good questions live on, stirring us to think more deeply: to probe motives and assumptions, to explore possibilities.  A good question stirs us; a “good answer” often mollifies.  Often a “good answer” relieves the unsettling energy of a good question.   The answer satisfies us and the good question fades from consciousness.

Too bad.  Good questions are a defense against drifting, passivity, error, cooling–and a host of other ailments.  Good questions help us live more fervently and accurately.

Jesus asked lots of timeless questions.

When John the Baptist points two of his disciples to Jesus with the comment, “Behold the Lamb of God!” the intrigued men set off after Jesus.  When Jesus became aware of them, he asked the searching question, “What are you seeking?”

Good question.

They respond with a question of their own, “Rabbi, where are you staying?”

A good question often generates more questions.

Jesus asks me, “What are you seeking? And even if I give a good answer (You, Jesus, and Your kingdom), what does that mean to me?  Lord, am I seeking insights about You and not YOU?  Am I seeking You that I might serve You OR that You might serve me?  Am I seeking to know You in Your fullness?

What are you seeking?  This is a good question; a question worth revisiting frequently over a life time.  Don’t let today’s “good answer” shut down the process.  This is a question worthy of discussion and pondering.

Lord, what questions are You asking me?  And what questions am I asking You?

2 thoughts on “A Good Question

  1. Jean…..thank you for writing! Your books have been an encouragement to me for the past 30 years. As a pastors wife with a Nav background, church ministry has often been a lonely place. You have always “spoken to me”, challenged me, and encouraged me in my walk with God. Your books have been some of the most important ” tools” I’ve used to disciple young women. I am not a “blog” reader but the Lord allowed me to come across your blog last week. As I read your previous blog entries, I was reminded of Proverbs 25:25. Thank you for starting this blog. I will read it weekly!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

