A Fluid Reflection

Billy

This is the best photo I’ve ever taken. My grandson was visiting and joined me one morning while I was reading and praying. I sat in a twin chair on the other side of the lamp, a book on my lap, too. I imagine this photo as the left-hand page of an open book. He is the left-hand page, the lamp is the spine, I am the right-hand page. Not quite a mirror image. Nevertheless, a fluid reflection. The images on the pages are different, yet strikingly similar.

The generations are like that. One generation gets up, snaps a photo and realizes only later that the picture embodies her prayer that her children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren would follow her path, the path of faith. It will look different for each generation, of course. Yet the core stands firm.

That morning I read the Bible, and he a picture book. Now, I blink my eyes and see him as a man, his head bowed over an open Bible. On the opposite page I see his grandson, sitting cross-legged, a book flayed on his knees. And the beat goes on.

“The steadfast love of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to children’s children” (Ps. 103:17).  “The children of your servants shall dwell secure; their offspring shall be established before you” (Ps. 102:28).

God loves those yet unborn. God hears my prayers for them. This is a mystery to live.

A good question: Am I praying in faith for the generations behind me?

5 thoughts on “A Fluid Reflection

  1. That is beautiful, Jean! Thank you for the reminder that we can pray, and that our right actions now influence generations. For the 11 years of married childlessness we had many church college kids who now are moms and dads and will quote us back to ourselves, sometimes things we had forgotten! I used to cling to the verses about the childless mother of many. But you know, it’s all God! Enabling me to be free to do right, to love others with his love…praise him!
    Your picture, it is so precious! Thank you for sharing both the picture and the idea that will reverberate with me.
    Praising God because of you!

    Like

    • Thank you. Truly we are “mothers” to more than our own children. I love Paul’s comment in Romans 16:13, “Greet Rufus, chosen in the Lord; also his mother, who has been a mother to me as well.” The adult, seasoned missionary-apostle valued the motherly-ministry of Rufus’ mom. Stay the course.

      Like

  2. This is so beautiful, Jean, stirring my “mimi” heart. If I were to snap a photo from where I’m sitting as I write this, a wooden sign one of my daughters in law bought me this weekend would be the focus: “All My Blessings Call Me Mimi.” That’s not entirely true, of course. I have many other blessings other than my grandchildren, but it is a reminder of my calling in this season to be intentional in how I model my walk with Christ before those blessings who call me “mimi” and speak into the lives of the generations to come. Thank you for leading the way.

    Like

  3. Loved this picture and what you drew from it, Jean. You’ve taught me so much. Just love you. And I love that Roger wrote in and commented. That Roger!

    Like

Leave a Reply

